Lying in Wait

seed:

“all that watch for iniquity are cut off.”

                                                                                                Isaiah 29:20

 

How quickly does God answer a prayer for peace, discernment or guidance?

Let me tell you why I am asking this. I was reading in Isaiah this week and I was doing what, unfortunately, I do too often while reading, I was trying to reach a chapter goal. I wanted to end on chapter 30, so I was reading through with my eyes while my mind wandered. At times, I would stop because something would catch my attention (like 28:9,10 and 16), but, for the most part, I mentally skimmed.

Then I had this sensation that I was not paying attention to what I was reading and I needed to. So, I prayed a short prayer that God would engage me so that my mind would be as involved as my eyes. He gave me immediate discernment. He gave me this as a reward.

And in that day shall the deaf hear the words of the book, and the eyes of the blind shall see out of obscurity, and out of darkness. The meek also shall increase their joy in the Lord, and the poor among men shall rejoice in the Holy One of Israel. For the terrible one is brought to nought, and the scorner is consumed, and all that watch for iniquity are cut off: that make a man an offender for a word, and lay a snare for him that reproveth in the gate, and turn aside the just for a thing of nought.

Isaiah 29:18-21.

It’s all great, but what He gave me especially is at the end of verse 20. It says “and all that watch for iniquity are cut off:” He explains who this is in verse 21 by saying, “That make a man an offender for a word, and lay a snare for him that reproveth in the gate, and turn aside the just for a thing of nought.

That is what is going on in our world today. People of God say something and it is scorned. Or someone wants to make a safe space where they don’t have to hear the truth spoken and they criticize God’s truth from anyone who speaks it. It is fashionable to decry God because we are complete in ourselves (humanism). Christians are called bigots because they speak God’s truth.

But, these verses say, He will have the final say.

What happens when you ask God to give you immediate discernment? He does.

Leave a Reply

