Closer is He

seed:

Speak to Him, thou, for He hears, and Spirit with Spirit can meet –

closer is He than breathing, and nearer than hands and feet.

Alfred, Lord Tennyson

They say, ‘I search and I do not find’, but whose fault is that? They look everywhere – under the bed where only the bogeyman sleeps, up the stairs, down the hall, around the corner – but nowhere to be found. A quick canvas of the community, a question for everyone, but no one knows what they are looking for. When I try to give guidance they look at me strangely, as if it was I that was strange for some reason. They can’t find Him.

Desperately people look for something that is right there; something that can be a part of them if they but ask.

This world…this world.

I wish they would stop stumbling around blind, grasping for something never knowing that the still small voice in their ear is giving clear directions.

I am being a bit poetic today for a reason and now I will clarify some things.

He says, ‘Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.’ (Matthew 7:7) I think about this all the time. It happens to Christians as well as those who are not saved.

I suppose the ask…seek…knock offer is to the unsaved first, but we who have already ‘come to the truth’ (I Timothy 2:4) need to follow this advice also.

It is the non-Christian who is stumbling around looking for something they can’t find no matter how hard they look. If a Christian tries to give an unbeliever a helping hand, it does no good. They have to listen to the voice that is calling them. We Christians speak an unintelligible form of Greek to those who aren’t in some way heeding the call of the Spirit. Because they will not hear, they continue to stumble around.

That is the explanation of my poesy, but what of the seed? What is the explanation of the seed? It is a Christian calling on an unbeliever in four parts.

  1. ‘Speak to Him, thou’: Pray! The only way you can stop all this stumbling about is to pray to the One who can answer.
  2. ‘for He hears’: If you actually ask, He will answer. To God be the glory!
  3. ‘and Spirit with Spirit can meet’: You have no idea what you ask, but when you do the Spirit Who calls meets with the Spirit Who saves.
  4. ‘closer is He than breathing, and nearer than hands and feet’: Wow! The Spirit is that close to everyone He calls. He gently guides your thoughts; He sits with bated breath on your shoulder waiting for you to respond. Closer than hands and feet. God is glorious and ‘God our Savior…desires all men to be saved’ (I Timothy 2:3,4).

He is truly wondrous! Like the hymn (Surely Goodness and Mercy) says:

A pilgrim was I, and a-wandering,

In the cold night of sin I did roam,

When Jesus the kind Shepherd found me,

And now I am on my way home.

Praise God!

Leave a Reply

